PersistAnce

This is par for the course. I get involved in too many things, and the least important ones get pushed to the side as the more important things on my list get crossed off (that IS the way it’s supposed to work!). Writing a blog that four friends and my mother read is pretty low on the list… but I haven’t forgotten about this at all. The Pauper’s Bible will continue at some point in the future, I just don’t have the time for it right now. Honestly, I am probably the only person that thinks it’s funny anyway, so it will get done when it gets done. It is what it is.

This post is about persistence, and I must begin by calming all of the grammar police. Yes, I am well aware I incorrectly spelled it in the title. We all have “trouble words.” Some people don’t know their there from their they’re. Some people haven’t the foggiest where the apostrophe belong when applying an “s” to an otherwise singular, non possessive word. For whatever reason, I seem to always spell persistence incorrectly. I am eternally grateful that there are no other words like it, and spell check can tap me on the temple when I do so and fix me up. There! I know it doesn’t have an “a.” Now you know, that I know, that it doesn’t have an “a.” Let’s get on with it…

persistence – noun /pərˈsɪstəns/ the attitude or behavior of someone who continues to do, or try to do, something in a determined way

As I VERY slowly traversed the area of undergraduate education, I posted from time to time online about my current “status” as a student. Often, I would just gripe about taking on too much as I found myself behind the desired pace. As it is, I spent six years completing the last two years of college for my Bachelor’s degree, and I found myself struggling during the last year. Not because the courses were any more of less difficult though. I struggled because I wanted to finish before I retired from the Army so I could move on to something else and have a completed degree so that more doors would be open for me. As I trudged forward, I saw a very kind and encouraging post from my cousin Patty. She is a professional writer and has commented in the past on some of my musings, and they are always very positive and supportive. This time, however, she said something along the line of “I often use you as an example of persistence.” That single line made me pause. It was nice to know I could be used as a practical example in random conversations, and living in Seattle I am sure Patty tires of talking about the weather (yes, more rain.. we know…). I suppose spending six years completing two years of college qualifies.

I had thought frequently about being a lawyer over the years. It’s a field I am interested in, and to be frank, I believe I could do well in with my personality (those of you that know me, know what I mean). I was surrounded by people, however, that were afraid to take chances. Had I tried to go to law school, there would have been arguments and dissent over how to survive and pay the tuition, what about all of the student loans, etc… One day, a very dear (my best) friend told me just to try. If I get in, I can figure out the money side. If it’s a dream, chase it. I slowly nod my head up and down as I’m hearing all of this, and with very little hesitation I decided to at least give it a shot. I set about studying for the LSAT. For those unfamiliar, it’s a heinous test that is used to help determine potential success in law school and the legal field. There are ridiculous questions requiring paths of logical thinking/reasoning that just don’t come easily to most people. I had about 75 days or so to study for the test, and reading online tells me that many people spend months and months studying.. and my score reflected my rapid decision to test. I scored just a couple of points above the national average.

By the time I got my “stuff” together, there was only one law school of my few choices (those near enough my daughter that I can see her with any type of regularity). It just so happens to be the school I preferred because it would allow me to have the 50-50 custody with my daughter that she and I both need, . I applied with my mediocre (at best) grades and LSAT score and hoped for the best. Generally, law schools don’t do interviews. Your records and writings speak for themselves. A few weeks after I applied, I got a phone call. It was the assistant dean of admissions. The short version is a retired military lawyer, and he let me in. I’m almost 41 years old… I’m a grandfather… and I’m starting over with a bunch of 20 somethings, and I couldn’t be more excited. I AM persistAnt, regardless of how you spell it. There is something out there I want, and I intend to go get it.

If you’re a future classmate, grab my shirt tails… I’m gonna own this!

References:

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to PersistAnce

  1. I love the persistence time as you! We must not ever give up our dreams = “There is something out there I want, and I intend to go get it!”

    Excuse my terrible English, I’d love to write in English as I do in Italian.
    See you soon and good luck for your future

Please deposit comments here...

